Chancellor [7/10]

I love clever TADS games because each one lends that much more credibility to the underdog of IF-authoring languages. Chancellor is a clever game. Reading back over its "comp reviews", I realize I was almost thrown off early in the game the way many other reviewers were. But I was glad I persisted. The fusion of the 2 different genres was a pleasant surprise when it happened (rather than what I originally thought to be a discouragement). And the "hunger-daemon" such as it was, wasn’t short enough to end my game, if that was a possibility to begin with.

The story is good and the coding is excellent. I highly recommend Chancellor.

Leave a Reply

