The Kindle–It’s Not Just a Device

OK, so I have “tweeted” a couple of links to some great free Kindle books and thought I should mention something in case not everyone out there realizes it.  You don’t have to have one of those little white Kindle electronic devices from Amazon to read Kindle books.  Personally, I read Kindle books from Amazon’s free iPhone app, but there are many other platforms that free Kindle “reader” software can be downloaded to, Mac, Windows, Blackberry; Android and others are coming soon.

I posted a link to Prayer, by Philip Yancey recently, when it was available for free.  It has gone back to $9.99, the usual Kindle book price, which is a good deal, still, but you can’t snooze on those free book offers, they only last a couple of days.  I have about 30 books in my Kindle library, most of which I obtained for free, including Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus, Haley’s Bible Handbook, The Naked Gospel, and some books by Rob Bell, John Piper, and on and on.

Even if you don’t currently have a Kindle, I would start building up your library in case you ever do get the Kindle software on one of your devices.  The free book deals are really too good to pass up.  Follow me on Twitter–I post links to them when they are made available.

Another thing I should mention in passing… Amazon recently added a cool new feature.  You have the ability to highlight text in your Kindle books, and now if there is a common passage that other users are highlighting, it will give it a faint underline in your reader.  It is kind of cool to see what other people find noteworthy in a book.  I almost never highlight the same portions for some reason.  I always suspected I was playing to the beat of a different drummer…

4 thoughts on “The Kindle–It’s Not Just a Device

  1. Carl

    Just curious as to your opinion on the Stanza app? I took kindle off my phone because I don’t like to pay for ebooks, but I think I may put it back on now… That highlight feature sounds pretty cool.

  2. I never liked Stanza or any of the other book reader apps. They have all of the public domain books, which for some reason, I can never force myself to wade through more than a couple of chapters. There’s some kind of mental thing going on that says, “If this book is old enough to be public domain, it’s not worth my time.” Weird.

    Then they have the book stores you can buy from on Stanza like Fictionwise. I’ve made a couple of purchases from those, but I mostly shy away from them because I’m leery of investing too much into a book platform that doesn’t have the corporate backing to be around for the long haul.

    That leaves us with Kindle, which has relatively low prices for most of their books, and lots of high-quality freebies if you’re quick enough to jump on them. And a great user interface. And sync between all of the platforms you read it on. And social highlighting.

    Now we’ll have to see how iBook goes, too, when iOS 4 is available.

    1. Carl

      That makes sense… Of course I am a huge fan of classics. Most all of my fiction reading is from Dickens, Poe, Twain, Stevenson, et al. That may be why I am a Stanza fan. Yeah, I’m cheap, too… But, like I said, you have inspired me to give Kindle another shot!

      1. Cool. Don’t forget to pick up 50 Days of Heaven by Randy Alcorn, one of the current good freebies. http://amzn.to/cbntWJ

        The public domain books are also available on Kindle, but they are not quite as easy to install. Still, it’s not too bad, just search for the book on the Kindle store from Safari and click “Buy it now” or whatever, then load up the Kindle app. They should really add a way to purchase books directly through Kindle, though.

Leave a Reply

